Judging What You See


As I walk along the sidewalks of my neighborhood, every once in a while I would look not at only the cars driving by, but the people inside the cars. Sometimes, when there are no trees or bushes blocking the sidewalk from the street view, I can’t help but try to hide myself, as I do not like strangers looking at me. Why? Well, for one thing, I decided to ride my brother’s electric scooter, and as a 15 year old who has been confused for a Junior and Senior in high school (and a person who can drive), people don’t find it very attractive (I guess I could say).
So I am sitting at a major intersection right after school has ended for most people, just trying to get to the library so I can get some of my favorite books, the third and fourth editions of Harry Potter. As you probably can imagine, the intersection was pretty crowded, and I couldn’t go all the way up to where the sidewalk meets the road. Instead, I sat there where the bushes can hide myself. The question is, why do I do that? Why do I try to hide myself from the public? I have one idea, and it is instinct. I think about over the years, a teenager’s instinct has changed into something entirely different. With all of the new things and new styles that affect our world today, older generations look down on ours, saying things that might as well be true. I have looked at some things myself to see if I can understand why older generations believe that, and I honestly say that I can only agree to them. Just look at what has changed our world’s point-of-view at things over the past few years. I mean, look at what people believe about homosexuality. Or drugs. Or abortion. Or anything, really. As most of those things really made an impact during our generation, people seem to think that it is our fault.
That is why I hide from the public. Because of what people believe, I hide myself from view of the drivers who pass me along the road. I guess that is why I look into their windows as well. I want to know if they are looking at me; and if they are, I want to know what they are thinking while they are looking at me. I want to know what goes through their minds, even if there is nothing going through at all. I want to know what their stories are. Just so I can understand why they believe what they believe. I just don’t want to be judged, you know?
That is another problem in this world. People judge others based on looks, and not what is in their hearts. That is another reason to hide. Another reason why a teenager’s instincts have changed. They hide wherever they can from the death stares of the people who look down on them, covering their faces like it wasn’t meant to be looked at. They eat their lunches in the school’s bathroom or a teacher’s classroom so that the bullies won’t get to them and ask for their lunch money. People get laughed at, and they shrink down in embarrassment and try to hide themselves from the laughs that throw themselves onto their minds’, making people believe things they shouldn’t.
The eyes of every human being believe in what they see just like the ear’s believe in what they hear. That is why I hide. So people will not look at me and judge me for what they see. But even if I hear what they think about me, I will push it away. I know those things are not true, and I will not give in to Society and their lies. But I only hope that what they say are lies.

6 thoughts on “Judging What You See

  1. People should learn to judge a character not what they see or hear. I learned that by being friends with someone that was hated by a few people and realized that that person is really different.

    • I agree. Too many are judged before they even say a word. Even if a person were to judge someone based on their character, they still shouldn’t hate them if they find that that person has a bad personality, because hating the person would just make things worse. And I, too, have chosen my closest friends because of learning about their personalities, and that is good that you did that before you judged them.

  2. You might be surprised to hear what older generations really have had to say. I encourage you to read literature of the early nineteen hundreds, the beginning of the modern literature era. I often feel the exact opposite of your sentiment, and think, wow, what has happened to all of that intellect and forward thinking of the 1920’s, etc. Also, read some French and other European literature of the same epoch. If anything, our minds have shrunk, contracted and closed. Obviously, not in all things, but many.

    • Thank you for your opinion. Of course, what I said was what I have seen (or thought I seen), and I know that not everybody from older generations blames my generation as the cause of these problems. The problems just have grown over time…
      And I will look into some of those books… if I could find any. Thanks again

      • I wasn’t trying to bash your opinion, or your insight, and I think you have a great blog. You are thinking about the important stuff and seems like you have thoughtful observations and vital things to write and say. All the major writers that began publishing in the 30s, 40s, and 50s, are in print. Hemingway, Roth, Bellows, Faulkner, O’Connor, etc…and these are just a few of the Americans. What I am trying to say, technology has not superseded great thought. Just because the modern world has many new gadgets, does not mean it has gotten any more intellectual. Some say, the young today, are able to borrow from this and that, re-imagine, and re-purpose art and images, but they are not so adept at really creating.

Leave a Reply

